Marien Kirche Logo


MarienKirche is part of the Marienhausen Convent, which is the oldest and only completely preserved Cistercian convent in the Rheingau area. The first document mentioning the nunnery dates back to 1189. Seemingly however, the convent is even older. The Archbishop of Mainz consecrated the convent church in 1219. In the course of the 13th century, the convent received several letters of Papal protection. The designation Marienhausen became established in the second half of the 16th century.

Whereas MarienKirche itself was preserved in its original 12th-century form right up until the present day, the convent church was rebuilt in the 18th century. At any rate, when, in 1803, the Rheingau was ceded to the Duchy of Nassau, Marienhausen’s orderly financial affairs were good enough for the ducal inspectors to exempt it from the secularization process, something that cannot be said of Kloster Eberbach. It was not until February 1811 that in a second wave of secularization Duke Friedrich August closed the convent. In return for appropriate compensation not only the abbess and the prioress but also eight nuns and three lay sisters were relieved of their duties at the convent.

The convent complex was subsequently sold to Baron Hans Carl von Zwierlein in Geisenheim. The Diocese of Limburg acquired the building in 1888. In 1889 the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ transferred their diocesan sanctuary, “Zum Heiligen Josef”, administered by Prelate Matthäus Müller, from Marienstatt in the Westerwald region to the former convent. The complex then served as a juvenile correction facility for up to 200 boys and young men.

In 1915 a fire seriously damaged the convent. In 1924 the Salesians of Don Bosco established a monastic community, took over the home for children and young men and, amongst other things, rebuilt the church in the style of the Liturgical Movement.

As part of the latest renovation work (as of 2010) the original Romanesque/Gothic structure was restored in the spirit of the Cistercians. The art was provided by intellectually disabled artists, in line with the institution’s caritative history. A relic of the blessed Maria Katharina Kasper, the founder of the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ, was set in the new altar.

The convent was placed under the protection of the Hague Convention in 2008.

Marienkirche, reconstruction after the fire, around 1920, archives R. Nägler

Marienhausen

Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2404 of /homepages/7/d39412280/htdocs/marienkirche/includes/menu.inc).
Marien Kirche Logo

Historie

Die MarienKirche ist Teil des Klosters Marienhausen. Es handelt sich dabei um das älteste und einzig noch erhaltene Frauenkloster der Zisterzienser im Rheingau. Seine erste urkundliche Erwähnung geht auf das Jahr 1189 zurück. Allerdings ist das Kloster vermutlich älter. 1219 weihte der Erzbischof von Mainz die Klosterkirche. Im Laufe des 13. Jahrhunderts erlangte das Kloster mehrere päpstliche Schutzbriefe. Die Namensform Marienhausen setzte sich seit der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts durch.

Während die MarienKirche in ihrer ursprünglichen Form aus dem 12. Jahrhundert bis heute erhalten geblieben ist, wurden die Klostergebäude im 18. Jahrhundert neu errichtet. Als der Rheingau 1803 zum Herzogtum Nassau kam, waren die geordneten wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse für die herzoglichen Inspektoren jedenfalls Grund genug, Marienhausen in jenem Jahr von der Säkularisation auszunehmen, anders als etwa Kloster Eberbach. Erst im Februar 1811 hob Herzog Friedrich August das Kloster in einer zweiten Welle der Säkularisation auf. Gegen entsprechende Entschädigung wurden neben der Äbtissin und Priorin acht Nonnen und drei Laienschwestern aus dem Klosterleben entlassen.

Durch Verkauf ging die Klosteranlage als Eigentum an den Freiherrn Hans Carl von Zwierlein in Geisenheim über. Das Bistum Limburg erwarb die Gebäude 1888. Im Jahr 1889 übersiedelte die Diözesanrettungsanstalt „Zum Heiligen Josef“ der Armen Dienstmägde Jesu Christi unter Prälat Matthäus Müller von Marienstatt im Westerwald hierher. Die Klosteranlage diente nun für bis zu 200 Kinder und Jugendliche als Knabenerziehungsanstalt.

Durch einen Brand wurde das Kloster 1915 stark beschädigt. 1924 richteten die Salesianer Don Boscos eine klösterliche Gemeinschaft ein, übernahmen das Kinder- und Jugendheim und bauten u.a. die Kirche im Stil der liturgischen Bewegung wieder auf.

Mit der jüngsten Sanierung (2010ff.) wurde der ursprünglich romanische-gotische Baukörper im Geist der Zisterzienser wieder hergestellt. Die künstlerische Ausstattung wurde entsprechend der caritativen Geschichte von geistig beeinträchtigten Künstlern geschaffen. Eine Reliquie der heiligen Katharina Kasper, der Begründerin der armen Dienstmägde, wurde in den neuen Altar eingefügt.

Seit 2008 steht das Kloster unter dem Schutz der Haager Konvention.

Marienkirche, Wiederaufbau nach dem Brand, um 1920, Archiv R. Nägler